Built From Primary Records · Sources Named on Every Story · Corrections Noted On-Page · Editorial Policy

Sacramento County Man Convicted of Attempted Murder Following Shooting

A Sacramento County jury convicted Ricky Gonzales of attempted murder on February 16, 2024, following a 2022 shooting. However, the official account confirms a Sacramento County prosecution—not that Gonzales lived in the county or that the shooting occurred there. The jury also convicted Gonzales of assault with a deadly weapon and being a felon in possession of a firearm, according to the Sacramento County District Attorney's Office. A conviction means the jury returned a guilty verdict; sentencing determines the punishment.

Table of Contents

What happened before the shooting?

On February 26, 2022, the victim arrived at a clothing store and argued with his wife. The dispute concerned which parent would leave with their child. Prosecutors identified Gonzales as the wife's former boyfriend.

During the confrontation, Gonzales pulled a gun and shot the victim four times, according to the District Attorney's account of the case. The victim survived. The release does not identify the victim, the child, or the clothing store.

Advertisement

What did the jury decide?

The jury found Gonzales guilty of three offenses: Jurors also found that Gonzales personally used a firearm and caused the victim great bodily injury. Those findings established that he personally carried out the shooting and that the victim suffered serious physical harm.

The jury further found true that Gonzales had a prior robbery strike conviction from 2003. The District Attorney's Office reported the prior conviction and jury findings.

📨 Get Free California Guides Alerts

Free · No spam · Unsubscribe anytime

  • Attempted murder
  • Assault with a deadly weapon
  • Possession of a firearm by a felon

What sentence did Gonzales receive?

Judge James Arguelles sentenced Gonzales to 49 years and four months to life in prison. The prior robbery strike and the firearm and injury findings were relevant to the severe sentence.

The wording "to life" does not provide a definite release date. The District Attorney's release does not state Gonzales's parole eligibility, custody location, or whether he pursued an appeal.

What details remain unverified?

The description "Sacramento county man" goes beyond the available official account. The release establishes that Sacramento County authorities prosecuted the case, but it does not state where Gonzales lived. It also does not explicitly identify the clothing store's city or county.

Readers should therefore treat Sacramento County as the place of prosecution, not as a confirmed residence or shooting location. The clearest documented facts are the jury verdict, the February 26, 2022 shooting, and the prison sentence. The official release was published July 12, 2024, several months after the verdict.


You Might Also Like

Owed money from a settlement? Check what is open at OpenClassActions.com. Caring for someone with dementia? Find practical guides at HelpDementia.com. Working out a skin routine? Evidence-based answers at AcneAdvocate.com. Forgot the name of a movie? Identify it at FindThisMovie.com. Was your data exposed? Track active breaches at DataBreachRadar.com.

We use cookies to run this site, measure how it’s used, and show ads. Choose “Essentials only” to limit cookies to what the site needs to work. Privacy Policy.